Register Now!


Driven to Move’s mission is to inspire greatness within Alaskans and teach goal-setting through healthy lifestyles. The primary goal is motivating young people, especially those not inclined to be active, to excellence through goal setting and healthy lifestyles.

The group’s founder, Liam Ortega, is a Fairbanks speed skater, US national team in 2007 and 2014 Olympic hopeful, who overcame injury and setback by embracing a love of challenge and defying adversity, competing in the 2010 Olympic trials one year after suffering a life-threatening injury.

Liam and fellow Driven to Move ambassadors, conduct elementary and junior high after-school enrichment programs, youth clinics and community race events. The events range from an annual golf tournament to support Special Olympians to an upcoming biking event and Mud and Obstacle course run-THE RUCKUS IN THE MUCKUS, all focusing on building up self-esteem and stamina while giving back to community. Plans also include an 8-week, biweekly running club by Ben Nelson, former collegiate runner and high school coach, for 4th-6th graders, reaching them at a critical point of personal development, instilling an Olympic attitude every day rather than every four years.

Online support will allow a platform for the DRIVEN community and their support teams to receive feedback needed to incorporate new skills into real life application. Online support encourages cooperation and collaboration that offers equal access to Bush communities and Interior road-system towns alike.

Driven to Move breaks down geographic isolation, and increases awareness of the giant training playground that is Alaska. Elite Athletes will learn latest approaches to training, in both body and mind. Less active participants will start where they are to develop their own healthy lifestyles using a variety of resources. All participants SET GOALS and pursue them DAILY!

The board: President/founder: Liam Ortega, Vice President: Joe Hayes, Treasurer: Cindy Benford, Secretary: Kate Ortega

Advisory board: Dr. Matthew Jakupcak, Dr. Jerry Becker, Fran Stredny, Grier Hopkins, Greg Allison and Julie Ritchie